CHEYENNE, Wyoming, October 14, 2026
Kraken parent Payward agreed on October 14 to buy Saldo Bank’s owner, seeking deposit and lending services across a five-market European footprint as crypto companies expand into regulated banking.
The agreement covers Finnish holding company Saldo Finance Oy, whose subsidiary is Lithuania’s Saldo Bank UAB. Payward expects closing in 2027, subject to approvals; the purchase price was not disclosed.
Bitcoin’s last completed UTC session closed at $83,101.99 on October 13, up 1.663%, with a high of $84,209 and a low of $80,927.48, according to ChartExchange. These figures precede the announcement and do not establish a reaction to the acquisition.
In Payward’s announcement, co-CEO Arjun Sethi said the bank would let European customers hold assets, move money and use financial services within one platform. No immediate change to existing Kraken account protection was announced.
The agreement extends a strategy already visible in Kraken’s U.S. derivatives expansion through Bitnomial. The European transaction targets bank deposits and credit, adding a different regulated service to the group’s trading business.
Bitcoin
BTCSource: ChartExchange, sampled completed composite daily closes. The unfinished October 14 session is excluded.
Saldo Bank brings deposits, lending and SEPA access
The formal transaction release identifies Lithuania, Finland, Sweden and Germany as Saldo’s operating markets, with passporting into the Netherlands. Passporting supports cross-border services under the applicable authorization; it does not mean every product is already available everywhere.
Consumer lending operates in Lithuania, Finland and Sweden. Small-business loans are available in Lithuania and Finland, while embedded lending supports fintech partners in Finland and Germany. Saldo’s credit card is live in Finland, with Sweden planned for 2027.
The deal would also bring SEPA payments access, connecting euro transfers to the broader service offering. For fintech partners, the proposition includes banking infrastructure they can use behind their own products, rather than only a new consumer banking application.
The Bank of Lithuania’s register lists Saldo’s specialized bank license as valid from October 26, 2021, under authorization code LB002115. Listed activities include receiving deposits, operating payment accounts, issuing payment instruments and electronic money.
That record confirms an existing licensed institution. It does not approve Payward’s ownership change or identify how Kraken customers would be moved onto any future banking service. Those are separate steps requiring their own disclosures.
The distinction also separates this agreement from Kraken’s U.S. crypto-backed borrowing product. A shared corporate group can offer several services through different legal entities, with different contracts, permissions and protections.
Kraken safeguarding differs from Saldo deposit insurance
Kraken’s EEA safeguarding explanation says cash funding is provided by Payward Ireland Limited, an electronic-money institution. It explicitly says that entity is not a bank and does not hold customer funds as deposits.
Safeguarding requires relevant customer money to remain separate from the firm’s other funds. Kraken says that money cannot be used for purposes other than issuing e-money or executing customer payments.
The same explanation distinguishes safeguarding from a statutory deposit guarantee. If the e-money firm fails, claims generally come from safeguarded funds, and recovery can take longer or be reduced by administration costs. The announcement does not replace those published arrangements today.
Saldo’s depositor information sheet describes a standard €100,000 protection limit per depositor across deposits held at the same credit institution. Several accounts at one bank are aggregated, rather than each receiving a fresh allowance.
The sheet specifies a seven-working-day reimbursement period following an insured event and describes exclusions and circumstances allowing higher protection. Eligible bank deposits therefore have defined contractual and statutory treatment; the limit is not a blanket guarantee for everything within the owner’s wider business.
Kraken’s EEA terms separately warn that, unless specifically stated for a service, accounts and crypto assets lack deposit-insurance or investor-protection coverage. Buying a bank does not by itself turn bitcoin, staking positions or exchange balances into insured bank deposits.
Saldo’s current Lithuanian term-deposit page gives another indication of the product differences. It accepts euros, lists terms from one to 120 months and says accrued interest is paid at maturity.
Its standard term deposit can be ended early with interest forfeited, while Term Deposit Plus has tighter early-exit conditions. A payment balance, a fixed-term savings contract and a crypto holding consequently serve different purposes even when displayed within related services.
The relevant comparison is the account’s legal provider, withdrawal conditions and protection scheme. Daily Crypto Briefs’ coverage of Coinbase’s conditional trust-charter approval likewise distinguished a particular banking permission from a universal retail-bank offering.
Kraken’s service table assigns core crypto services to Payward Europe Solutions Limited and e-money services to Payward Ireland Limited. The former is authorized as a crypto-asset service provider under MiCA; the latter holds the Irish e-money permission. Those existing authorizations explain how regulated crypto trading and cash funding can already operate without making the exchange itself a deposit-taking bank.
The terms also identify a separate Cyprus investment firm for derivatives and certain securities products. That division makes the provider named in an individual agreement more informative than the app’s branding alone. A future integration would need to explain which balances sit with Saldo, which remain with another group entity and how customers move money between those services.
Saldo’s existing deposit process requires identity verification and a signed agreement specifying amount, term and interest. Funding is by bank transfer, with cash deposits unavailable through that process. These are present Saldo product conditions, rather than announced terms for a future Kraken offering. They do not establish the rates or access rules Payward will eventually choose.
Payward’s 2027 closing still needs regulatory approval
The ECB’s qualifying-holding guidance explains that significant bank ownership changes undergo supervisory assessment. Reviews consider the buyer’s reputation, management suitability, financial strength, regulatory compliance and financial-crime risks.
The process generally takes 60 working days, with an extension possible when further information is required. That general review period does not establish a countdown for this deal: no completed application date or supervisory decision was disclosed with the announcement.
The ECB describes positive, conditional and negative outcomes. Conditions can address governance or risk management. A signed commercial agreement therefore leaves an approval stage between the announced strategy and completed bank ownership.
The acquisition could reduce Payward’s reliance on outside banking providers for some European services. That is an operational implication of the proposed ownership structure, rather than evidence that fees will fall or transfers will immediately become faster.
Fear & Greed Index
Oct. 14, 2026Source: Alternative.me, checked October 14 at 21:07 UTC. The Bitcoin-focused index read 62, compared with 57 yesterday; it is broad sentiment context.
The next concrete milestones are regulatory decisions, closing and published customer terms. Payward has not disclosed an exact completion date, future deposit rates, account-migration arrangements or a country-by-country Kraken banking rollout schedule.
Stay up to date
Get the latest crypto insights delivered to your inbox
Primary sources and further reading
| Source | Title |
|---|---|
| | Payward: October 14 Saldo Bank acquisition agreement |
| | Payward: formal transaction announcement |
| | Bank of Lithuania: Saldo Bank license register |
| | Kraken: safeguarding of EEA client funds |
| | ECB Banking Supervision: qualifying holding assessments |
Fact-checked by: Daily Crypto Briefs Fact-Check Desk
Related Articles
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Kraken buying Saldo Bank?
Kraken parent Payward agreed to acquire Saldo Finance Oy, Saldo Bank's Finnish owner. The transaction is not yet closed.
When will Payward's Saldo Bank acquisition close?
Payward expects a 2027 closing, subject to regulatory approvals and customary conditions. No exact date or purchase price was disclosed.
Will Kraken balances automatically get deposit insurance?
No automatic conversion was announced. Kraken's EEA e-money safeguarding differs from insurance for eligible bank deposits, and crypto holdings do not become insured deposits through common ownership.
What is Saldo Bank's deposit protection limit?
Saldo's depositor information sets a standard €100,000 limit per depositor across eligible deposits at the same bank, with exclusions and specific exceptions. It is not a separate allowance for each account.
Which countries are in Saldo Bank's footprint?
The announcement identifies Lithuania, Finland, Sweden and Germany as operating markets, plus passporting into the Netherlands. Products vary by country.



