Logo Daily Crypto Briefs
Open menu

Circle and Ripple Back OKX at $25B Valuation

7 min read
Large official black OKX block-letter wordmark on an upright off-white stone sign beside an unbranded greyscale investment folio, blank papers and binder clip, with lime and slate panels and an institutional window backdrop.

TL;DR

  • OKX announced completed strategic investment from Circle, Ripple, QRT and Standard Chartered's SC Ventures on October 6.
  • The $25 billion figure is a pre-money valuation, not the amount raised; investment sizes and ownership stakes were not disclosed.
  • The financing extends March's ICE-led round as OKX expands stablecoin payments, tokenized collateral and planned stock trading.

SINGAPORE, October 7, 2026

OKX announced completed investment from Circle, Ripple, Qube Research & Technologies and Standard Chartered’s SC Ventures at a $25 billion pre-money valuation on October 6, extending its institutional backing as it expands into stablecoin payments and tokenized assets.

The financing extends the round led by Intercontinental Exchange, the owner of the New York Stock Exchange, in March. The amount raised and the investors’ ownership stakes were not disclosed, leaving the scale of the new capital injection unclear.

Bitcoin ended October 6 at $85,552.40, down 0.25%, with a daily range of $85,141.40 to $86,675.40, according to Investing.com’s historical table. Those completed-session figures provide broader market context, rather than evidence that the investment announcement moved cryptocurrency prices.

In the official financing announcement, founder and chief executive Star Xu said the company was expanding from its exchange origins into a wider financial platform. He connected the new capital with continued growth and the tokenization of real-world assets.

The deal comes after the OKX-ICE plan for 63 tokenized stocks. The new development is investment by four infrastructure partners, separate from that venue’s proposed inventory and operating notice.

Bitcoin

BTC
Past month: selected daily closes
$85,552
+8.1%
Sep 7 - Oct 6 | High $85,552 • Low $75,620

Source: Investing.com. Selected daily prices from September 7 through October 6; the unfinished October 7 session is excluded.

OKX’s $25 billion valuation leaves funding size unknown

The valuation describes the business before the new investment. It does not mean OKX received $25 billion, that customer balances increased by that amount or that investors bought a controlling stake.

Without the amount invested, the post-money value cannot be calculated from the announcement. The ownership percentages also remain unknown, as do any special investor rights or differences between the new securities and existing shares.

ICE’s March 5 release also put OKX’s value at $25 billion and withheld the investment terms. It disclosed a minority position and a board seat for ICE, alongside plans involving crypto price data, regulated futures and tokenized equities.

October therefore retains the same headline valuation number. That alone cannot establish that every financing term is unchanged, because March’s release did not supply a capitalization table or a detailed valuation basis for comparison.

The March agreement made access to ICE’s U.S. futures and NYSE tokenized equities markets subject to regulatory approval. Investment and product authorization remain separate decisions; an additional shareholder does not itself open a market to customers.

CoinDesk’s October 6 report independently reported the undisclosed funding amount. It also cited Macquarie’s assessment that institutional demand for the planned stock venue would depend on liquidity, integration costs and the durability of the regulatory framework.

Those are execution questions. The financing announcement establishes backing for the company, but provides no transaction-volume forecast or customer revenue figures for the expanded services.

Circle and Standard Chartered already support OKX infrastructure

The partners have operating relationships that predate their new investment. Circle’s July 2025 agreement with OKX outlined one-to-one dollar and USDC conversions and simpler movement between bank accounts and the platform through shared banking partners.

Circle subsequently launched native USDC and its cross-chain transfer protocol on X Layer on August 6, 2026. X Layer is OKX’s Ethereum-compatible layer-2 network, connecting the relationship to payments, trading and blockchain applications beyond an exchange listing.

Native issuance and cross-chain transfers are different functions. The former identifies the issuer’s token on a particular network; the latter supplies a route for moving USDC between supported networks. Neither announces how much customers will transact through those services.

Equity links between exchanges and stablecoin businesses have also moved in the opposite direction. Binance’s recent Circle share purchase paired an investment with a commercial USDC agreement, illustrating how distribution partnerships and corporate ownership can overlap.

For institutional collateral, Standard Chartered’s April 28 announcement describes a framework with OKX and BlackRock’s BUIDL tokenized Treasury fund. Eligible VIP and institutional clients can hold BUIDL in the bank’s regulated custody while using it to support trading on OKX Middle East.

The framework also permits on-exchange use of BUIDL as yield-bearing collateral. Its underlying exposure is to cash, Treasury bills and repurchase agreements, distinguishing it from a volatile cryptocurrency pledged as margin.

That arrangement addresses where collateral is held and how it can be deployed. It does not turn the new equity investment into a bank guarantee covering every OKX account, trading strategy or consumer product.

QRT contributes institutional liquidity and risk capacity, while Ripple brings payments and stablecoin expertise, with RLUSD available across OKX’s unified order book. The investment announcement names SC Ventures as the investor; Standard Chartered’s established custody role is a separate operating relationship.

The commercial logic is to connect issuance, liquidity, custody and customer distribution. Whether the ownership links improve those services remains an outcome to measure through usage and execution. The disclosed relationships explain the investors’ fit, but do not establish an exclusive agreement or quantify financial benefits for either side.

OKX Money’s 10% rewards depend on eligibility

The expansion also has a consumer product. OKX’s October 6 product recap says OKX Money is available in select regions, while describing tokenized stocks for U.S. users as forthcoming. The two services are at different stages of availability.

The OKX Money launch notice describes funding in more than 50 currencies, conversion into dollar-backed stablecoins and virtual or physical cards. Supported holdings include USDG, USDC and USDT.

Qualifying customers can receive rewards of up to 10% annual percentage yield on eligible USDG balances, without staking or a lockup, according to OKX. The company also advertises fee-free conversions between supported stablecoins and no added foreign-exchange markup on card purchases.

The annualized rewards ceiling is conditional. It is not a guaranteed 10% return for every user, a rate applying automatically to USDC or USDT, or a promise that a short holding period earns 10% of principal.

OKX says availability, rates and features vary by region and eligibility. The launch materials do not establish universal access, and their digital-asset disclosures state that holdings are not insured. The investor list does not alter those published product limits.

The distinction between company backing and service permission also runs through the U.S. crypto regulation guide. A payments app, a trading venue and a custody arrangement have different customer terms and regulatory requirements even when marketed under one brand.

Fear & Greed Index

October 7, 2026
71 Greed

Alternative.me’s Bitcoin-focused sentiment index stood at 71, in greed territory, versus 73 a day earlier. That measures market sentiment rather than demand for OKX equity or adoption of its payments app.

As of 07:01 UTC on October 7, the investment amount and stakes remained undisclosed. The next measurable developments are fuller financing terms, confirmed regional expansion and a live tokenized-stock venue, rather than another statement of the company’s platform ambitions.

Stay up to date

Get the latest crypto insights delivered to your inbox

Fact-checked by: Daily Crypto Briefs Fact-Check Desk

Frequently Asked Questions

Did OKX raise $25 billion from Circle and Ripple?

No. The $25 billion figure is OKX's pre-money valuation. The company did not disclose how much the investors contributed or their resulting ownership stakes.

Who invested in OKX in October 2026?

OKX named Circle, Ripple, Qube Research & Technologies and SC Ventures by Standard Chartered. It described the financing as an extension of March's ICE-led investment.

Did the investment raise OKX's valuation?

The headline valuation remains $25 billion, the same figure ICE disclosed in March. The October announcement explicitly calls it a pre-money valuation; detailed capitalization terms were not published.

Is OKX Money available worldwide?

No. OKX's October 6 recap says the app is available in select regions. Features, rates and eligibility vary by market, so the announcement does not establish universal access.

Does OKX Money guarantee a 10% return?

No. OKX advertises rewards of up to 10% APY for qualifying customers with eligible USDG balances. That annualized ceiling is conditional and does not apply automatically to every customer or supported stablecoin.