Logo Daily Crypto Briefs
Open menu

Pirate Chain Exploit Mints 39.8M ARRR, Lifting Supply 20%

6 min read
Large official gold ship and black Pirate wordmark on a pale limestone sign beside a smaller unbranded greyscale mechanical coin press with blank metal discs, against off-white, ochre and deep teal panels.

TL;DR

  • Pirate Chain says a transaction-validation flaw discovered October 14 allowed roughly 39.8 million unauthorized ARRR to be created, increasing supply about 20%.
  • The project says the coins entered the Sapling shielded pool and NonKYC restricted a suspicious account and prevented withdrawals. A realized dollar-loss total was not disclosed.
  • An initial rollback announcement was followed by a statement that the team cannot unilaterally rewrite the chain. Users were asked to refrain from transfers while recovery work continues.

CASABLANCA, October 17, 2026

Pirate Chain says an exploit created approximately 39.8 million unauthorized ARRR, increasing its token supply about 20%, as the privacy-focused blockchain asked users to stop moving funds while developers worked on recovery.

The project’s October 15 incident update said the vulnerability was discovered October 14. Newly created coins entered the Sapling shielded pool, and NonKYC subsequently restricted a suspicious account and prevented withdrawals. The incident involves confirmed exploitation, rather than an unused vulnerability.

CoinGecko’s ARRR market page, checked around 03:02 UTC on October 17, showed a price near $0.2481, a market capitalization of $48.7 million and roughly $435,000 in 24-hour volume. Its displayed circulating supply was about 196.2 million ARRR. Those tracker figures do not establish that the unauthorized issuance has been reconciled.

In its statement, Pirate Chain attributed the issuance to two transaction-validation failures and said there was no evidence that notary keys or shielded-transaction cryptography had been compromised. It also said privacy protections prevented tracing the full subsequent movement of the minted funds.

The disclosure followed the early-October Ironwood upgrade and an initial notice announcing a rollback. The later statement instead stressed that developers cannot unilaterally freeze the decentralized network or rewrite its history, leaving recovery dependent on coordination among participants.

Bitcoin

BTC
September 16 to October 16, 2026; sampled completed UTC daily closes
$81,500
+7.2%
Sep 16 - Oct 16 | High $85,749 • Low $76,024

Source: ChartExchange, checked October 17. Selected completed daily closes spanning one month; this is a Bitcoin benchmark, not an ARRR price chart.

Pirate Chain’s 39.8M ARRR mint leaves losses unresolved

As of this article’s 03:02 UTC October 17 loss-impact check, the strongest supported figure was the project’s approximately 39.8 million newly issued ARRR. Its update did not quantify realized sales, a dollar theft total, the amount deposited at NonKYC or the number of affected user wallets.

Lookonchain’s incident summary also reported the supply increase and exchange intervention, attributing them to Pirate Chain. It did not provide a separate traced cash-out estimate. No independently verified victim-loss total or additional attack wave was established in the sources checked for this report.

Multiplying 39.8 million by the observed $0.2481 quote gives roughly $9.9 million. That is an illustrative mark-to-market value, calculated by Daily Crypto Briefs, rather than money proven stolen or proceeds the attacker could realize. Thin trading volume and blocked withdrawals make that distinction consequential.

For existing holders, unauthorized issuance can reduce their proportional share of the token supply without removing coins from their wallets. Whether that dilution remains depends on the recovery terms ultimately accepted by the network. A temporary restriction at one exchange does not establish that every minted token has been recovered or neutralized.

The accounting differs from Cronos’ Tectonic rollback, where the network separately identified reversed borrowing and funds that had already left its chain. Pirate Chain has not published an equivalent reconciliation of issuance, exchange deposits, recoveries and remaining exposure.

The broader market was also softer: ChartExchange’s Bitcoin composite closed October 16 at $81,500.04, down 0.769%. The month-long benchmark above supplies market context, without implying that Bitcoin’s move caused or measures ARRR’s incident losses.

PirateNetwork fixes target import and output checks

Two public changes in PirateNetwork’s repository address validation paths consistent with the failures described in the incident update. They provide more detail than the announcement, although a complete post-mortem connecting every step of the attack remained outstanding in the checked material.

The first commit restores proof-of-burn checks for coin imports. Its explanation says block validation skipped input and fee accounting for transactions classified as minting, a category that included imports as well as ordinary mining rewards.

As a result, an import-shaped transaction could have its outputs accepted without proving that coins had been destroyed elsewhere. The patch limits that exemption to the mining reward and adds tests intended to reject forged imports. An import mechanism needs that check to avoid creating value without a corresponding source transaction.

The second commit tightens recognition of time-lock scripts. Its description says malformed scripts could cause software to report a payment address different from the one actually required, bypassing restrictions on transparent outputs. The change requires a precise script layout and adds rejection tests.

These are transaction-acceptance problems, a distinction also relevant to Zcash’s earlier Orchard emergency upgrade. Pirate Chain’s team has specifically said its evidence does not show a failure of the cryptography protecting private transactions.

Its October monthly update described Ironwood as a new Halo2-based shielded pool and said existing Sapling addresses would remain supported. The incident statement places the minted coins in Sapling, so describing the event simply as broken Ironwood privacy would overstate what the project disclosed.

ARRR transfers await a coordinated recovery plan

Pirate Chain’s first public notice said developers would roll back to October 14 at 1 p.m. Pacific time and that exchanges were suspending deposits and withdrawals. The later update did not confirm that this rollback had happened.

Instead, it said delayed-proof-of-work operators had agreed to temporarily suspend notarizations. Exchanges and mining pools were asked to pause voluntarily while a recovery plan was developed. A voluntary request is distinct from a verified halt at every provider, and the team said the blockchain remained operational.

At the publication check, the official signed-release list still identified version 6.0.9, released October 13, as latest. Code changes alone therefore do not establish that a recovery release has been distributed and adopted across the network.

Broader sentiment offered little insight into that operational question. Alternative.me’s Fear & Greed Index stood at 55 on October 17, down from 63 the previous day. The Bitcoin-focused indicator does not measure ARRR recovery progress.

Fear & Greed Index

October 17, 2026
55 Greed

Source: Alternative.me, checked October 17 at approximately 03:02 UTC.

The next substantive checkpoints are the promised post-mortem, official recovery instructions, a signed release and clear exchange reopening notices. The checked disclosures did not establish a recovery deadline, a completed rollback or a final accounting of the unauthorized coins.

Stay up to date

Get the latest crypto insights delivered to your inbox

Fact-checked by: Daily Crypto Briefs Fact-Check Desk

Frequently Asked Questions

What happened in the Pirate Chain exploit?

Pirate Chain says a transaction-validation vulnerability discovered October 14 allowed about 39.8 million ARRR to be created without authorization, adding approximately 20% to supply.

How much money was stolen in the ARRR exploit?

The confirmed project figure describes newly created tokens, not a verified dollar theft from existing wallets. The team did not disclose a realized cash-out total, affected-wallet count or amount deposited at NonKYC.

Did Pirate Chain roll back its blockchain?

Its first notice announced a rollback. A later October 15 statement said the team could not unilaterally freeze or roll back the decentralized chain and was developing a recovery plan. A completed rollback was not established by the checked sources.

Should ARRR holders move their funds?

The project's checked incident update asks users to temporarily refrain from sending or moving funds while recovery work continues. Exchange restrictions should be checked with each venue.

Was Pirate Chain's privacy cryptography broken?

The project said evidence did not indicate compromise of notary keys or the cryptography underlying shielded transactions. It attributed the exploit to two transaction-validation failures.