SAN FRANCISCO AND NEW YORK, October 14, 2026
Ripple and DriveWealth announced an RLUSD settlement partnership on October 14 for a brokerage platform serving more than 100 global partners, adding a Europe-first stablecoin funding route as institutions seek to move dollars faster around U.S. stock trading.
The arrangement combines Ripple’s dollar stablecoin on the XRP Ledger with cross-border payments and custody infrastructure. A U.S. expansion is planned, while equity financing through Ripple Prime remains an area the companies are exploring.
XRP closed October 13 at $1.3650, up 1.828%, after trading between $1.3086 and $1.3828, according to ChartExchange’s completed UTC session. Separately, Ripple reported $2.4607 billion of circulating RLUSD and $2.6029 billion in reserves as of October 8. These figures predate the announcement and do not establish a market response or DriveWealth balances.
In the joint announcement, DriveWealth CEO Naureen Hassan said: “We’ve already enabled 24/5 trading; now we need the funding to match.” The proposed funding route would let clients use stablecoins convertible into cash in near real time.
The agreement follows Standard Chartered’s RLUSD custody launch in Dubai. That service safeguards eligible institutional clients’ tokens; DriveWealth’s partnership instead connects stablecoin infrastructure to brokerage funding and settlement needs.
XRP
XRPSource: ChartExchange, sampled completed composite daily closes. The unfinished October 14 session is excluded.
DriveWealth targets Europe for RLUSD settlement
DriveWealth supplies the brokerage infrastructure behind fintech, digital-wallet and financial-institution investing services. Its more than 100 partners represent the platform’s existing reach, rather than a disclosed count of firms already adopting the new stablecoin service.
The settlement integration includes Ripple’s minting and burning capabilities. Minting creates tokens and burning removes them from circulation, connecting the digital balance to the issuer’s cash issuance and redemption processes.
Ripple Payments is being integrated for cross-border acceptance from DriveWealth partners. Custody work also begins in Europe, with additional markets contemplated. The announcement does not give country-specific availability, an implementation timetable or completed transfer volumes.
The funding use case is distinct from launching tokenized stocks. Clients would supply collateral for trading through a different payment route; the companies did not announce that DriveWealth’s entire stock inventory would be issued as blockchain tokens.
Ripple’s reserve transparency page identifies Standard Custody as RLUSD’s issuer, chartered and supervised by New York’s financial regulator. It describes reserves held in segregated accounts and monthly independent accounting attestations.
The October 8 reported reserve balance exceeded circulation by approximately $142.2 million. That comparison concerns the issuer’s backing, not cash available for DriveWealth to lend, partner commitments or revenue generated by this agreement.
Reserve assets and tokens held in client accounts serve different functions. Backing supports redemption of the stablecoin; custody controls access to tokens; a brokerage balance records what the client can use under the broker’s terms. Combining those figures would overstate the partnership’s disclosed scale.
Stablecoin funding leaves T+1 stock settlement intact
The SEC’s T+1 transition announcement explains that most U.S. broker-dealer securities transactions moved to settlement one business day after trading on May 28, 2024. The change shortened the previous two-business-day cycle.
A stock trade and the payment used to fund a brokerage account are separate steps. An international investor can have access to a trading session while still waiting for dollars to reach the broker. Faster funding addresses that timing gap without automatically changing when the securities transaction legally settles.
This distinction limits how the near-real-time conversion claim should be read. The partnership announcement does not establish instantaneous delivery of every stock, around-the-clock cash withdrawals or abolition of clearing requirements. Those outcomes need their own operating arrangements.
RLUSD’s user terms say eligible Ripple customers can redeem each token for one U.S. dollar subject to contractual conditions. Holding RLUSD alone does not make every user a direct redemption customer or give them ownership of individual assets in its reserves.
The terms also require compliance with applicable laws and describe circumstances in which support can be suspended. A transferable token therefore still sits inside an institutional process involving customer eligibility, account controls and the obligations of service providers.
Daily Crypto Briefs’ coverage of BNY’s tokenized Treasury repo settlement illustrates another distinction: moving an asset on a ledger, financing it and settling the related payment are linked operations, each requiring its own evidence of completion.
For DriveWealth, the operational measure will be whether accepted stablecoins become usable brokerage collateral reliably and at a competitive total cost. Faster network transfer alone cannot establish lower end-to-end costs when conversion, custody and withdrawal pricing remain undisclosed.
XRP fees differ from RLUSD brokerage balances
RLUSD is the dollar-linked asset in the announced settlement integration. XRP is the XRP Ledger’s native asset. The agreement does not disclose an institutional XRP purchase, treasury allocation or minimum token holding associated with participating partners.
XRP Ledger documentation says transactions destroy a small amount of XRP as a network cost. The standard minimum is currently 10 drops, or 0.00001 XRP, and can increase with load. That fee is destroyed rather than paid to Ripple.
Network usage can consequently require XRP without making the transferred dollar amount an XRP investment. A large RLUSD payment and the small native-asset fee are different quantities; neither this release nor its partner count supports a calculation of future XRP demand.
The companies’ equity-financing discussions involve Ripple Prime’s Delta One business. Ripple’s August 27 launch disclosure describes that business as an expansion into institutional U.S. equities and equity derivatives. Exploring opportunities with DriveWealth is a separate stage from announcing a completed financing transaction.
That earlier launch included total return swaps, contracts that provide exposure to an asset’s gains, losses and distributions under agreed terms. They are different from owning the underlying shares directly. Ripple said the service covered U.S.-listed equities, indices and digital assets for institutional clients.
Prime brokerage groups trading, clearing and financing services around institutional accounts. Adding a stablecoin funding route can connect to those services, but does not identify the collateral discounts, financing rates or counterparty terms for this particular arrangement. No such deal terms were published with the DriveWealth announcement.
The latest agreement also differs from Ripple’s embedded XRP Ledger wallet integration with Privy. Wallet infrastructure gives applications tools to hold and transfer assets; brokerage integration determines how institutions accept those assets into a trading workflow.
Fear & Greed Index
Oct. 14, 2026Source: Alternative.me, checked October 14 at 18:05 UTC. The Bitcoin-focused index read 62, compared with 57 yesterday; it is broad sentiment context, not a measure of this partnership.
The companies plan to discuss the agreement at Ripple Swell in New York on October 28. A broad launch date, U.S. rollout schedule, participating-client list, fees and transaction volumes remain undisclosed; the scheduled discussion is not itself a deployment deadline.
Stay up to date
Get the latest crypto insights delivered to your inbox
Primary sources and further reading
| Source | Title |
|---|---|
| | Ripple and DriveWealth: October 14 partnership announcement |
| | Ripple: RLUSD circulation and reserve transparency |
| | SEC: U.S. T+1 settlement transition |
| | Ripple: RLUSD user terms and redemption conditions |
| | XRP Ledger: transaction costs |
Fact-checked by: Daily Crypto Briefs Fact-Check Desk
Related Articles
Frequently Asked Questions
What did Ripple and DriveWealth announce?
Their October 14, 2026 partnership covers RLUSD settlement on the XRP Ledger, cross-border payments and digital asset custody. DriveWealth serves more than 100 partners globally, but that network count is not a count of partners already using RLUSD.
Where will DriveWealth use RLUSD first?
The announcement identifies Europe as the initial settlement market, with U.S. expansion planned. It does not disclose a broad launch date, country list, fees or processing volumes.
Does RLUSD funding make U.S. stock trades settle instantly?
No change to the standard U.S. T+1 securities settlement cycle was announced. Stablecoin transfers and conversion can speed up account funding without automatically changing the legal and operational settlement of stock transactions.
Does the DriveWealth partnership involve buying XRP?
No institutional XRP purchase or treasury allocation was announced. RLUSD is a dollar stablecoin, while XRP is the ledger's native asset used for network transaction costs.
When will more details about the partnership be discussed?
The companies say they will discuss the partnership at Ripple Swell in New York on October 28. The announcement does not identify that discussion date as a product launch or U.S. rollout deadline.



