Logo Daily Crypto Briefs
Open menu

Aave Buys Avon to Build Fixed-Rate Crypto Loans

5 min read
Large official black Aave ghost and lowercase aave wordmark on an ivory stone sign beside a greyscale unbranded loan document and steel binder clip, against lavender and slate panels.

TL;DR

  • Aave Labs announced the acquisition of Avon's team and technology on November 6.
  • The purchase adds fixed- and floating-rate lending systems and an onchain order book.
  • Financial terms and the first fixed-rate product's launch date were not disclosed.
  • A fixed borrowing rate would address financing-cost uncertainty, while collateral and liquidation risks still require separate controls.

November 8, 2026

Aave Labs has acquired Avon’s team and technology to develop fixed-rate crypto lending, expanding its credit ambitions as the company reports more than $33 billion in deposits and $13 billion in active loans.

The November 6 announcement adds lending systems and an onchain order book, a mechanism for matching borrowing and lending orders. The acquisition establishes a development effort; it does not identify a first live market or launch date.

The deal arrives during a weaker broader market. ChartExchange’s completed UTC sessions showed Bitcoin closing November 7 at $75,753.96, up 0.030%, after a session low of $75,413.14. The close was about 9.3% below October 7. These are market-backdrop figures, rather than evidence of a reaction to the acquisition.

Bitcoin

BTC
One month: Oct. 7 to Nov. 7, 2026; sampled UTC daily closes
$75,754
-9.3%
Oct 7 - Nov 7 | High $83,506 • Low $75,754

Aave buys Avon’s lending infrastructure

Avon’s fixed- and floating-rate protocols, domains and related assets are included in the purchase. Its founder, Prince Sinha, and Ayush Kaul join engineering, while Omar el-Ashaal joins business development. The technology will continue to be developed within Aave’s ecosystem.

Chief Executive Stani Kulechov said the objective was to offer familiar financial products, including fixed rates, to institutions, fintech companies and individual users. That is a statement of product direction, rather than a published rate commitment.

The Block reported that financial terms were undisclosed. Its November 6 account cited lower network totals, above $30 billion in deposits and $12 billion in loans. This article uses the figures displayed in Aave’s own announcement, rather than combining the two snapshots into a growth estimate.

The acquisition also differs from Aave’s expansion into loans backed by Coinbase tokenized stocks. Adding a collateral type changes what can secure a loan. Developing fixed-rate infrastructure addresses how borrowing costs are set. The announcement does not say Avon’s technology is already active in that stock-backed market.

Fixed-rate loans target variable borrowing costs

Aave’s V3 documentation describes borrowing against collateral, with interest rates changing according to how much available liquidity is being used. Supplier returns come from borrower interest after the protocol’s reserve allocation.

Its interest-rate strategy documentation describes two rate slopes around a target utilization level. Borrowing costs rise more steeply above that point. In plain terms, borrowing can become more expensive when a greater share of a lending pool’s funds is already lent out.

That mechanism helps balance demand for loans with available funds, but makes future financing costs uncertain. A fixed rate could make budgeting easier by specifying the interest cost for an agreed period. Whether borrowers can obtain that certainty, and at what price, will depend on the eventual market design.

For illustration, a hypothetical $10,000 loan priced at 5% simple annual interest for one year would incur $500 of interest before fees. At 10%, the figure would be $1,000. Those numbers are arithmetic examples, not Avon or Aave quotes, and do not describe compounding or any announced product.

Fixing the rate would not fix the collateral’s market value. A borrower could know the interest bill and still face a margin shortfall if the pledged asset fell. Aave’s separate proposal for native Bitcoin collateral and WBTC liquidations illustrates how collateral settlement and loan pricing raise different design questions.

Avon launch terms and collateral rules remain open

Aave’s risk documentation identifies smart-contract, oracle, collateral, liquidity and liquidation risks. Under its documented framework, a position can become liquidatable when its health factor falls below one. That ratio compares risk-adjusted collateral with debt.

The same documentation says suppliers can withdraw only funds that are not already borrowed. At full utilization, withdrawals of that reserve wait for repayments or fresh deposits. A fixed borrower rate alone would not establish how quickly a lender could exit a future market.

The acquisition announcement does not resolve the corresponding Avon product questions: supported assets, maturities, early repayment terms, withdrawal arrangements, collateral requirements or liquidation parameters. Without those details, a comparison of advertised yields or total borrowing costs would be premature.

There is also a distinction between a company purchasing software and a protocol changing its rules. Aave’s governance documentation describes a process in which token holders propose, discuss, vote on and execute protocol changes. The acquisition itself is not evidence that a particular lending configuration has passed that process.

Broader sentiment remains cautious. Alternative.me’s Bitcoin sentiment index read 28, or Fear, on November 8, compared with 25 the previous day. The measure describes market sentiment, not demand for fixed-rate loans or the purchase’s financial value.

Fear & Greed Index

Nov. 8, 2026
28 Fear

The next substantive milestone is a published product specification or market launch that makes the cost and collateral rules reviewable. Until then, the deal adds people and technology, while the price borrowers would pay and the date they could use the resulting loans remain undisclosed.

Stay up to date

Get the latest crypto insights delivered to your inbox

Fact-checked by: Daily Crypto Briefs Fact-Check Desk

Frequently Asked Questions

What did Aave acquire from Avon?

Aave Labs acquired Avon's team, fixed- and floating-rate lending technology, onchain order book, domains and related assets.

Are Aave's new fixed-rate loans available now?

The acquisition announcement does not identify a live Avon-based market, launch date, supported assets or borrowing rate.

How much did Aave pay for Avon?

Financial terms were not disclosed, according to The Block's November 6 reporting.

Does a fixed interest rate prevent crypto loan liquidation?

No. Fixing an interest rate addresses financing costs. Collateral values and liquidation conditions remain separate risks that depend on the product's final rules.