Logo Daily Crypto Briefs
Open menu

The Clearing House Taps Quant for U.S. Bank Tokenized Deposit Network

5 min read
Large official white The Clearing House logo on a navy bank clearing-room wall beside an unbranded greyscale settlement ledger and payment-routing equipment.

TL;DR

  • The Clearing House selected Quant to provide the interoperability and transaction-management technology for its U.S. bank tokenized-deposit initiative.
  • The planned network would connect tokenized bank money with existing RTP and CHIPS payment rails; access for participating institutions is targeted for the first half of 2027.
  • The announcement did not disclose a contract value, technical chain design or any requirement to use the QNT token.

NEW YORK, September 24, 2026

The Clearing House selected Quant on Thursday to supply technology for its planned U.S. bank tokenized-deposit network, targeting access for participating institutions in the first half of 2027 as banks build payment systems that can operate around the clock.

The September 24 announcement puts a named technology provider behind a bank-led initiative announced in June. Quant will supply the layer that coordinates tokenized-deposit transactions and connects them to The Clearing House’s existing RTP and CHIPS payment systems. The network is still under development.

Quant’s QNT token traded near $80 at about 15:00 UTC, up roughly 12% over 24 hours, with market value near $1.17 billion and daily trading volume around $17 million, according to CoinGecko’s market page. Those figures show market interest around the announcement; the agreement does not say whether the network will use QNT.

“Building interbank infrastructure for tokenized deposits requires proven technology that can scale,” said Sal Karakaplan, The Clearing House’s chief strategy officer, in the release. He said Quant’s selection would give financial institutions of different sizes a route to participate.

The June plan, covered here when JPMorgan, Citi and Bank of America backed it, described a common system for moving bank deposits recorded on a ledger. Thursday’s decision identifies who will build its connecting layer. It does not amount to a bank launch, a live transaction or a new public stablecoin.

Quant gets the bank network’s connecting layer

Quant’s assignment covers interoperability, orchestration and transaction management. In practical terms, that means coordinating a payment as it crosses different bank systems and connecting the planned tokenized-deposit network with established payment rails. The Clearing House named RTP, its real-time payments network, and CHIPS, its high-value payments system, as the existing rails to be linked.

The distinction matters to banks that want programmable payments without leaving ordinary bank-money infrastructure behind. A tokenized deposit represents money owed by a bank to a depositor, recorded and transferable through a digital system. The Clearing House says the new network is intended to let participating institutions clear and settle those claims between banks, including outside conventional business hours.

The Clearing House said in June that the network would be open to financial institutions across the United States, including smaller banks. Its owner banks number 25, and the September release says its current payment networks clear and settle more than $2 trillion daily. That existing volume is a measure of the operator’s scale, not projected volume for the new network.

The announcement does not identify the underlying blockchains, describe the final technical architecture, name early pilot banks or disclose what The Clearing House will pay Quant. It also gives no transaction-volume target for 2027. Those omissions limit what can be inferred about the project’s eventual reach.

Quant

QNT
August 25 to September 24, 2026
$80.29
+26.6%
Aug 25 - Sep 24 | High $80.29 • Low $60.06

The chart uses Investing.com’s historical daily prices through September 23 and a September 24 intraday CoinGecko snapshot. Its final point can change before the day’s close.

The RTP network already supports immediate U.S. payments, while CHIPS handles large-value transfers. The new initiative would connect tokenized deposits to those systems rather than require banks to build an isolated on-chain payment route for each use case. The operator has not yet published the detailed rules for that connection.

The Clearing House listed corporate treasury, liquidity management, cross-border payments and digital-asset settlement as possible uses. Those are target applications, not announced production services. The release says more details on participation and use cases will come as development proceeds.

The bank-money structure also differs from the stablecoins already used in card payments. SoFi’s Mastercard settlement program involves a bank-issued stablecoin for a specific card program; the Clearing House proposal centers on clearing tokenized commercial-bank deposits across institutions. Both seek faster settlement, but they make different claims on issuers and have different distribution paths.

Quant has previously been selected for a UK tokenized sterling-deposit project, according to its own announcement. That precedent supports its banking-infrastructure credentials, but the U.S. network’s operating design and rollout remain separate decisions by The Clearing House and participating banks.

QNT’s role remains undisclosed

The news arrived as QNT traded higher, but the September 24 release describes Quant’s company technology, not a token integration. It does not say banks must buy, hold or settle with QNT, or specify that network fees will be paid in the token. The token’s market move therefore should not be treated as evidence of a contractual demand mechanism.

The distinction is relevant as tokenized real-world assets and deposits enter DeFi: a banking contract can validate a technology provider without establishing how a separately traded crypto asset participates. Quant’s financial terms, the number of initial institutions and a measurable network adoption target were not disclosed.

Fear & Greed Index

September 24, 2026
71 Greed

The Alternative.me index stood at 71 on September 24, a broad crypto-market sentiment reading rather than a measure of demand for the bank network or QNT.

The next concrete milestones are the network’s participation rules, technical design and the first institutions authorized to use it. The Clearing House still targets availability in the first half of 2027; until then, Thursday’s announcement establishes Quant’s supplier role, not a completed interbank payment service.

Stay up to date

Get the latest crypto insights delivered to your inbox

Fact-checked by: Daily Crypto Briefs Fact-Check Desk

Frequently Asked Questions

What did The Clearing House announce about Quant?

It selected Quant to supply the interoperability, orchestration and transaction-management technology for a planned interbank tokenized-deposit clearing and settlement network.

Is The Clearing House tokenized-deposit network live?

No. The Clearing House said the network is expected to become available to participating institutions in the first half of 2027. It has not announced a public launch.

Will banks have to use the QNT token?

The September 24 announcement did not say whether QNT will be used or required. Quant being selected as a technology provider does not, by itself, establish token demand.

How are tokenized deposits different from stablecoins?

A tokenized deposit represents a claim on a commercial bank deposit and stays within the bank's regulatory framework. A stablecoin is typically a claim on a separate issuer's reserve assets; the rights and protections depend on its structure.