Logo Daily Crypto Briefs
Open menu

Ethereum Launches zkAPI to Hide Who Pays for AI

7 min read
One large official black Ethereum diamond on an off-white stone sign beside an unbranded greyscale compact computing device and blank paper receipt, against violet and ochre panels.

TL;DR

  • The Ethereum Foundation announced zkAPI on October 1, turning a private API-payment design into a working mainnet implementation built with Open Anonymity.
  • The active repository and SDK specify native ETH funding. The launch post also discusses broader credits and a USDC vault, so deployment details must be checked.
  • Payment privacy does not hide prompts or network metadata. The local client can also reuse a provider key for up to 60 seconds by default.

October 2, 2026

The Ethereum Foundation announced zkAPI’s mainnet launch on October 1, introducing private payments for AI services as ether closed near $2,706 and developers sought to separate sensitive requests from the identity behind their bills.

Built with the Open Anonymity Project, zkAPI lets a user prepay into an Ethereum vault and prove that a private balance can cover service usage. Its purpose is to break the payment trail linking requests to a depositor, while the provider continues processing the request itself.

Ether’s October 1 close was $2,706.39, up 0.76% for the session and about 13.1% from September 2, according to Investing.com’s historical table. Those figures describe the broader market; they do not establish a price response to zkAPI.

In the Foundation’s launch post, Vittorio Rivabella of its dAI team described a system in which the service handling payment and the provider processing content cannot identify the billing link between them.

The release follows a February 11 design by Davide Crapis and Vitalik Buterin. That proposal addressed a trade-off between account-based billing, which permits profiling, and a blockchain transaction for every request, which adds cost and a public activity trail.

Its examples included a hypothetical 100 USDC deposit funding 500 model queries and a 10 USDC deposit funding 10,000 blockchain queries. These were illustrations of the proposed accounting model, not reported zkAPI customer activity, current pricing or evidence that today’s native ETH deployment accepts USDC.

The announcement moves that discussion into usable software. It also raises a narrower question than whether AI is anonymous: which party can connect a payment, a request and a person under the configuration actually running?

Ethereum

ETH
Sep. 2-Oct. 1, 2026
$2,706
+13.1%
Sep 2 - Oct 1 | High $2,753 • Low $2,394

Source: Investing.com, sampled daily closes over one month. Dates identify trading sessions; October 2’s unfinished session is excluded.

zkAPI separates Ethereum funding from AI requests

The active ethereum/zkapi repository describes a private prepaid client with a browser SDK and a local API. Users can access zkAPI through OA Chat’s Ethereum-wallet option or connect compatible software through the local client. The repository labels the protocol experimental.

Its funding documentation deserves attention. The Foundation’s announcement discusses ETH, USDC and other credits and links a USDC-holding vault. The current repository and protocol documentation specify native ETH only for the active SDK and vault.

Those are different descriptions, not confirmation that every client accepts every asset. A user or integrator needs the denomination and contract address of the chosen deployment rather than assuming a USDC transfer will fund the current ETH implementation.

The architecture documentation describes a browser-generated proof sent to the billing service without a prompt. Once verified, the service issues a short-lived provider key with a spending limit. The client sends inference calls directly to OpenRouter using that key.

After the key is retired, usage is settled and the client receives a signed update to its private balance. A lease can cover multiple calls. The client checks the charge and updated state before saving it, while only actual usage reduces the available credit.

The protocol uses a nullifier, effectively a unique marker for a spending state, to prevent the same balance being spent twice. Funding and final withdrawal involve Ethereum transactions; each inference request does not require a separate on-chain payment.

That addresses a different layer from charging for APIs through x402. Metering explains what a service bills. Payment unlinkability addresses whether the bill creates a persistent identity trail across usage.

zkAPI’s 60-second key window limits request privacy

The local client’s instructions identify a concrete qualification: its default reuses a provider key for a fixed window of up to 60 seconds. Compatible requests from different chats and local clients can share that key and its spending cap.

The provider can link those requests. A fresh credential therefore does not necessarily mean a fresh credential for every prompt, and an unlinkable funding proof does not make all calls within a session unlinkable from one another.

The client offers a fresh-key setting that disables reuse, with settlement starting after each response. Fresh access may wait for the preceding key’s settlement, illustrating the practical exchange between fewer settlement pauses and stronger separation of requests.

Separate privacy documentation says direct HTTPS is the default, exposing the source IP to destination services. Optional Tor routing can reduce that network exposure, but requires its own configuration. Client applications can also retain transcripts already supplied to them.

The Foundation separately acknowledges that repeated personal details, writing style and reused conversation history can connect sessions. A provider still sees content needed to run the model. Removing the billing identifier therefore reduces one profiling channel without guaranteeing that a person cannot be recognized.

The distinction also separates zkAPI from Ethereum’s draft private-token standard. Hiding token balances and transfer amounts is a different problem from shielding the connection between prepaid credits and off-chain AI activity.

Ethereum’s experimental vault adds withdrawal conditions

Unused funds can leave through a mutual close with server clearance or an escape withdrawal without it, according to the protocol documentation. The escape route has a configurable challenge period, defaulting to 24 hours, during which already-used spending states can be challenged.

It should not be described as an unconditional instant withdrawal. The active protocol also defines note expiry and requires operators to run a challenge service, making operational configuration part of how settlement works.

The repository’s note-binding review says balances are bound to the particular funded note. It also states that the checked-in Groth16 setup is single-party and the cryptographic construction is not post-quantum. Matching circuits, proof keys and deployed verifiers are required.

The integration guide calls for independent review of design and setup assumptions before production use. Mainnet availability establishes deployment, not an independent audit, adoption level or assurance that every operator has configured the system correctly.

The guide also requires a client’s network, vault address, proof assets and signing keys to match independently trusted deployment values. The vault’s verifier and signing keys are immutable. Copying a configuration file or seeing a matching circuit label alone does not establish that a client is connected to the intended deployment.

Ethereum’s wider institutional privacy work focuses on confidential financial infrastructure. zkAPI applies privacy to a consumer and developer billing relationship, where the useful test is what information each participant actually receives.

Fear & Greed Index

Oct. 2, 2026
72 Greed

Source: Alternative.me. October 2’s Bitcoin-focused reading was 72, or Greed. It is broader market context, not a measure of zkAPI adoption.

As of 16:08 UTC on October 2, the launch materials did not disclose active-user counts or aggregate payment volume. The next evidence to watch is deployment-specific funding guidance, independent review and measured use, alongside whether providers preserve the separation promised by the payment design.

Stay up to date

Get the latest crypto insights delivered to your inbox

Fact-checked by: Daily Crypto Briefs Fact-Check Desk

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Ethereum's zkAPI?

zkAPI is an experimental prepaid API-payment system built by Open Anonymity with the Ethereum Foundation. It uses zero-knowledge proofs to separate service usage from the deposit funding it. The Foundation announced mainnet availability on October 1, 2026.

Does zkAPI hide AI prompts?

No. The direct-access path keeps prompts away from the billing server, but the inference provider still receives them. IP addresses, timing, repeated personal details and shared provider keys can also link activity.

Does zkAPI use ETH or USDC?

The active ethereum/zkapi repository and SDK documentation specify native ETH. The launch post also describes broader credits and links a USDC vault. Those descriptions are not interchangeable; funding depends on the exact deployment and client configuration.

Can zkAPI providers link multiple requests?

Yes. The local client's default provider-key reuse window is up to 60 seconds, so compatible requests sharing that key are linkable. Fresh-key mode removes that shared-key link but does not hide prompt contents or network metadata.

Can unused zkAPI credits be withdrawn?

The protocol supports an on-chain mutual close and an escape withdrawal without server clearance. An escape has a configurable challenge period, defaulting to 24 hours, so it is not an unconditional instant payout.