LONDON, October 1, 2026
Lloyds Banking Group and Visa completed a seven-day live pilot settling $750,000 in payment obligations with USDC, with funds reaching Visa in under an hour including over the weekend, extending bank testing of round-the-clock stablecoin transfers.
The September 30 announcement describes money moving between institutions to complete payment activity. It does not announce a new Lloyds customer wallet or a change to how consumers pay with their cards.
Bitcoin’s September 30 daily price was $83,612.2, down 0.05%, with a session high of $85,598.7 and low of $82,975.8, according to Investing.com’s historical table. These figures provide wider crypto-market context; the pilot uses a dollar stablecoin and does not establish a link to Bitcoin demand.
Peter Left, Lloyds’ head of digital assets, said in the bank’s announcement that settling actual obligations let the company test stablecoins beyond theory. The statement presents the result as evidence from a live trial, rather than a completed commercial expansion.
Bitcoin
BTCSampled daily Bitcoin prices from Investing.com. The chart shows broader market conditions, not the value or performance of the USDC settlement pilot.
Lloyds Sends USDC to Visa Outside Banking Hours
Lloyds purchased USDC through Archax, a UK-regulated digital asset exchange, and booked the settlement through its Corporate Markets branch in Jersey. Funds then went to Visa in the United States, according to Visa’s pilot release.
The distinction between paying and settling is central. A consumer purchase initiates payment activity; institutions subsequently exchange money to discharge the resulting obligations. The trial addressed that institutional movement of funds, where timing determines when money becomes available to the receiving party.
The announcement contrasts the observed arrival time with traditional cross-border processes that can take a day or longer outside banking hours. It does not publish individual transaction timestamps, a median arrival time or a controlled comparison across equivalent routes.
That leaves a specific result: the participants demonstrated a working route during the trial. It does not establish that every future transfer will finish within the same time or that every existing bank route takes longer.
The test follows Visa’s U.S. USDC settlement expansion. Its December 2025 launch notice named Cross River Bank and Lead Bank as initial participants settling on Solana, while keeping the consumer card experience unchanged.
That earlier program also reported a $3.5 billion annualized settlement run rate as of November 30, 2025. An annualized rate projects activity over a year; it is not an audited annual total and cannot be compared directly with this seven-day pilot’s completed volume.
The new contribution is therefore the named UK banking group and the cross-border operational test. The $750,000 figure measures obligations settled, rather than investment in Lloyds, Visa revenue or newly issued stablecoins.
Canton Connects With Visa’s Public-Chain Settlement
The trial used Lloyds’ own node on Canton and its configurable privacy features. Visa supported settlement on a separate public blockchain, demonstrating a connection between different network environments. The announcement did not identify that public chain or publish the mechanism used to connect them.
It would therefore be premature to label this a Solana, Ethereum or other named public-network transaction. Visa’s earlier use of Solana does not identify the network involved in the Lloyds test.
Interoperability means separate systems can exchange value or instructions. For a bank, the practical question is whether its internal records, controls and settlement processes can agree with the records held by the receiving institution. A faster ledger transfer is only one part of that workflow.
The test also sits alongside The Clearing House’s tokenized-deposit initiative with Quant. That project concerns bank deposit money represented digitally; the Lloyds pilot used an externally issued stablecoin. The instruments require different questions about the issuer, redemption and who owes money to the holder.
Circle’s reserve disclosures say USDC is redeemable one-for-one for dollars and backed by liquid reserves held separately from its operating funds. The page describes weekly holdings disclosures and monthly third-party assurance.
That reserve structure explains the intended dollar value of the settlement asset. It does not, by itself, verify the timing, operating resilience or total cost of a particular transfer. Those depend on the complete route and the arrangements between counterparties.
No customer should infer that a successful institutional test creates a new entitlement to hold or redeem USDC through an ordinary Lloyds account. Access terms require a separate product decision and disclosure.
Visa Pilot Leaves Fees and Rollout Undisclosed
The potential treasury benefit is a shorter wait for incoming funds. If institutions can meet obligations outside office hours, they may have more flexibility over when to move liquidity. The pilot did not quantify released working capital, reduced collateral or additional revenue.
Visa’s July discussion of stablecoin money movement acknowledges that stablecoins are not always cheaper. It advises businesses to assess operational and cost efficiency alongside speed and reach, with actual timing and availability dependent on supporting infrastructure.
That qualification is relevant here. A cost comparison would need to account for acquiring the stablecoin, moving it, managing custody and converting or redeeming it where required. A settlement-time headline supplies none of those prices.
The broader UK context includes the FCA’s crypto regulatory framework. A bank’s completed trial is evidence of technical and operational testing; it does not establish regulatory permission for every possible stablecoin product or distribution channel.
The companies did not disclose a general launch date, future volume commitment or transaction-fee schedule in the announcements checked as of October 1 at 10:08 UTC. Those omissions limit conclusions about the scale and economics of a commercial service.
Fear & Greed Index
October 1, 2026Alternative.me’s Bitcoin sentiment index stood at 74, in its Greed category, on October 1. This indicator measures broader market sentiment and offers no evidence about demand for the Lloyds settlement route.
The next meaningful development would be a disclosed production arrangement, participating institutions, published costs or recurring settlement volumes. Until then, the confirmed result remains a completed live pilot with reported weekend transfers, rather than a timetable for general customer access.
Stay up to date
Get the latest crypto insights delivered to your inbox
Primary sources and further reading
| Source | Title |
|---|---|
| | Lloyds: September 30 live stablecoin settlement pilot |
| | Visa: Lloyds pilot and cross-network settlement details |
| | Visa: December 2025 U.S. USDC settlement launch |
| | Visa: stablecoin money movement and cost considerations |
| | Circle: USDC reserves and transparency |
Fact-checked by: Daily Crypto Briefs Fact-Check Desk
Related Articles
Frequently Asked Questions
How much did Lloyds and Visa settle using USDC?
They settled $750,000 in payment obligations during a seven-day live pilot announced September 30, 2026. Funds reached Visa in under an hour, including during the weekend.
Which blockchain did Lloyds use in the Visa pilot?
Lloyds used its own Canton node. Visa supported settlement on a separate public blockchain, which the announcement did not identify.
Can Lloyds customers now send USDC with Visa?
The announcement describes an institutional settlement pilot, not a general customer service. No public rollout date was disclosed.
Was the Lloyds Visa stablecoin pilot cheaper than bank settlement?
The companies reported faster arrival but did not disclose fees or quantified cost savings. Speed alone does not establish a lower total cost.
Where did Lloyds buy the USDC?
Lloyds bought USDC through Archax. Settlement was booked through its Corporate Markets branch in Jersey and transferred to Visa in the United States.



