CASABLANCA, October 12, 2026
Sui Foundation announced a $30 million investment in DATA Network on Monday as the AI training-data protocol, formerly Story, prepares to retire its independent blockchain and move to Sui, extending the network’s push into data infrastructure.
The agreement brings DATA’s Trace registry into the Sui ecosystem and makes Walrus the default storage layer for DATA Foundation applications. The current chain will keep operating until the upgrade is complete.
SUI closed October 11 at $1.1308, up 1.58%, with a session high of $1.1419 and low of $1.0874, according to Investing.com’s Binance historical table. Those completed-session figures precede Monday’s announcement and do not establish a reaction to the deal.
In its October 12 announcement, Sui Foundation said the investment makes it DATA Network’s largest institutional holder, alongside continuing holdings by PIP Labs and DATA Foundation. The release does not disclose its ownership percentage.
The move follows DATA Foundation’s June pivot from general intellectual-property infrastructure toward AI training data. Unlike the earlier DATA vesting development, this announcement changes the planned network infrastructure while preserving existing lockups.
Sui
SUISource: Investing.com, Binance market. Selected daily closes from September 12 through October 11, 2026; the incomplete October 12 session is excluded. Sources checked at 21:09 UTC on October 12.
DATA token migration preserves locked positions
DATA is to continue as the protocol’s token on Sui, rather than being exchanged for SUI. The announced migration ratio is one-for-one, with holder economics and governance rights at least equivalent to the current arrangement.
Locked and vesting positions carry over unchanged. The announced transfer therefore does not itself release restricted tokens or create an immediate liquidity event for their holders.
The Block’s report confirms the foundations plan to publish a detailed timeline before the upgrade. No completion date has been set, and the announcement does not establish an exchange deposit or withdrawal timetable.
The distinction from the project’s previous rename is concrete. In its June 25 rebrand statement, DATA Foundation renamed Story Network and the IP token, while saying existing integrations and the validator set continued unchanged.
That statement’s assurance that holders needed no action concerned the June rename. It should not be treated as a complete instruction set for the separate October plan to move onto a different blockchain.
DATA’s current documentation still describes an EVM-compatible Layer 1 combining Ethereum-style application compatibility with a Cosmos SDK and CometBFT foundation. It identifies DATA as the network’s gas token and describes existing wallet and bridge options.
Those documents explain the starting point, rather than proving which wallets, bridges or application features will support the future Sui deployment. The reviewed announcement does not resolve how existing bridged balances or validator operations will be handled.
Comparable chain wind-downs such as Sophon’s have required network-specific holder and exchange instructions. DATA’s published transition plan will be the relevant evidence for its own process; another project’s arrangements cannot supply the missing details.
Trace records meet Walrus file storage
The foundations say Trace has registered more than 250 million contributions since its June launch and processes more than 3 million receipts daily on average. These are project-reported registry measures, not independently verified revenue or paying-customer counts.
Unchained’s reporting describes the proposed addition of encrypted reference copies on Walrus, allowing later processing to be checked against original files. It also reports that SY Lee, PIP Labs’ chief executive, will become a Sui Foundation strategic adviser.
DATA Foundation’s Trace overview presents a public audit trail linking contributions to their origins, permissions and payment records. The service separates a record showing how data entered the system from the confidential material a buyer may receive.
That separation is central to the proposed integration. A registry entry can document a contribution without itself storing a protected reference copy of the underlying video, image or audio file.
The DATA technical introduction also distinguishes Trace’s provenance function from Confidential Data Rails, which encrypt data and control decryption through onchain permissions. It describes threshold encryption intended to prevent one party from holding the complete key.
Walrus storage alone does not provide that confidentiality. Its file-storage documentation says files are public and discoverable unless separately protected. Access restrictions must therefore come from encryption and the application’s permission system.
The same guide qualifies the word permanent: a permanent file cannot be deleted by its uploader before its storage period expires, but availability still has an expiry. Operators can extend storage before expiration.
For an AI buyer, continued access consequently depends on retention and renewal arrangements as well as an unchanged file. An auditable record also cannot, by itself, prove a contributor held every necessary permission for a particular training use.
Sui investment leaves deployment terms pending
The $30 million figure describes investment in DATA Network, not an announced purchase of SUI. Neither the exact stake nor a detailed allocation of proceeds appears in the reviewed release.
The agreement expands Sui’s application pipeline alongside the planned Samsung Wallet USDC rollout. A named integration provides a potential workload, while actual deployment and recurring usage remain separate evidence.
Sui’s transaction documentation explains that applications can sponsor users’ gas payments. A sponsor supplies SUI for execution, allowing a user to transact without personally holding the token.
That mechanism limits any simple inference from receipt counts to new retail SUI buyers. Applications may fund fees centrally, and the partnership announcement does not disclose a sponsorship policy or expected aggregate fee bill.
Likewise, Trace receipts do not necessarily map one-for-one to future Sui transactions. The implementation could determine how records are submitted and paid for; no complete production design was established in the reviewed materials.
The commercial test is whether labs continue buying documented data and whether applications sustain the associated storage and payment activity after the transition. The announced capital and existing registry figures do not establish that outcome.
Fear & Greed Index
October 12, 2026Alternative.me’s Bitcoin-focused sentiment index showed 69, or Greed, versus 61 the previous day. It is broad market context, not a measure of DATA adoption or the investment’s value.
As of 21:09 UTC on October 12, the next evidence to watch is the holder transition plan, token deployment details and application migration schedule. Those disclosures will show how the promised continuity of rights is implemented before the independent chain is retired.
Stay up to date
Get the latest crypto insights delivered to your inbox
Primary sources and further reading
| Source | Title |
|---|---|
| | Sui Foundation: October 12 DATA Network and Walrus partnership |
| | DATA Foundation: June 25 Story rebrand and Trace launch |
| | DATA Foundation: current architecture and confidentiality documentation |
| | DATA Foundation: Trace audit and licensing overview |
| | Walrus: file visibility, retention and deletion documentation |
| | Sui: sponsored transaction documentation |
Fact-checked by: Daily Crypto Briefs Fact-Check Desk
Related Articles
Frequently Asked Questions
Has DATA Network already shut down?
No. The foundations say its existing blockchain will operate until the planned upgrade is complete. A detailed timeline and holder transition plan are to be published beforehand.
Will DATA tokens be converted into SUI?
No. DATA will continue as the protocol's token on Sui, with a one-for-one migration. Moving to Sui does not turn DATA holdings into SUI holdings.
Does the migration unlock locked DATA tokens?
The announced terms carry locked and vesting positions over unchanged, with holder economics and governance rights at least equivalent to the existing arrangement.
Is DATA Network the former Story Protocol?
Yes. The June 25, 2026 rebrand renamed Story Network to DATA Network and IP to DATA. The October plan adds a separate infrastructure migration to Sui.
Does Walrus make AI training files private forever?
Walrus documentation says stored files are public unless separately protected. Encryption and access controls provide confidentiality, while retention periods and renewal determine continued availability.



