Logo Daily Crypto Briefs
Open menu

Coinbase Adds Gold-Backed USDC Loans With Weekend Pricing Limits

5 min read
Large official blue Coinbase wordmark on an ivory sign beside an unbranded greyscale bullion bar in an open vault tray, against blue and ochre panels.

TL;DR

  • Morpho announced November 6 that Coinbase users can borrow USDC against PAX Gold on Base.
  • Coinbase's loan-health guide says PAXG prices stop updating while gold markets are closed, including weekends.
  • The existing integration's $1.7 billion in active loans covers all collateral, not just gold.

CASABLANCA, November 8, 2026

Coinbase added PAX Gold as collateral for USDC borrowing through Morpho on Base on November 6, extending an integration with more than $1.7 billion in active loans while introducing gold-market pricing limits for borrowers.

The new market lets customers pledge PAXG, a token representing physical gold, without selling their holding. Morpho’s announcement confirms the launch; Coinbase’s help documentation warns that the price used to assess PAXG loan health stops updating when gold markets close.

Bitcoin ended November 7 at $75,753.96, up 0.030%, after trading between $75,413.14 and $76,254, according to ChartExchange’s historical table. That close was about 9.3% below October 7. These figures describe the broader crypto backdrop, rather than a measured reaction to the gold-loan launch.

Bitcoin

BTC
One month: Oct. 7 to Nov. 7, 2026; sampled UTC daily closes
$75,754
-9.3%
Oct 7 - Nov 7 | High $83,506 • Low $75,754

Coinbase brings PAX Gold into Morpho borrowing

Morpho described gold as Coinbase Borrow’s first non-crypto collateral, joining assets including Bitcoin, Ether, XRP and Solana. The description refers to the underlying commodity: PAXG itself remains a blockchain token.

The protocol reported roughly $3.4 billion of collateral and more than $1.7 billion of active loans across its Coinbase integration. Those totals cover the existing business across assets. Neither number establishes demand for the newly added gold market, and a PAXG-specific borrowing total was not disclosed.

Coinbase supplies the customer interface, while Morpho provides the onchain lending protocol. Adding a USDC market against PAXG extends that arrangement rather than creating a separate lender for physical bullion.

The expansion follows a broader move to use tokenized investments as collateral. Daily Crypto Briefs previously covered USDC borrowing against tokenized stocks, where eligibility and market-hour pricing also shaped access. Gold adds another underlying asset, with its own valuation schedule.

PAXG loan health pauses with gold-market prices

Coinbase’s loan-health guide says PAXG prices update for approximately 23 hours a day on weekdays. They do not update while gold markets are closed, including weekends, so displayed loan health can lag changes in gold’s value.

That timing does not eliminate borrowing costs. Interest accrues continuously, and a larger debt balance can weaken a position even when its collateral price has not refreshed.

Loan-to-value measures debt, including accrued interest, against collateral value. Liquidation becomes possible when that ratio reaches the market’s threshold. Coinbase says the applicable threshold appears in the loan overview and varies by collateral asset.

For illustration, a $1,000 debt against $2,000 of collateral has a 50% ratio. If collateral falls to $1,600 with debt unchanged, the ratio rises to 62.5%. This arithmetic illustrates sensitivity to price changes; it is not a quoted PAXG borrowing limit.

Paxos’s PAXG overview separately distinguishes gold-market minting and redemption quotes from exchange order-book prices. Paxos lists its gold-market window as Sunday at 6 p.m. through Friday at 5 p.m. Eastern, excluding a daily weekday closure and applicable holidays.

Consequently, a token trading on an exchange outside those hours does not establish that every lending valuation feed is refreshing at the same time. The token’s tradability and the loan’s collateral valuation are separate questions.

Gold-loan availability and fees remain product-specific

Contemporaneous launch reporting identifies eligible U.S. customers outside New York. Coinbase’s broader loan introduction lists additional regional access but says collateral eligibility can vary. Its general country list should not be treated as confirmation of identical PAXG access everywhere.

The guide says borrowing limits appear in the product. It also describes a processing fee added to principal, with interest charged on that amount, and possible platform fees in addition to market interest. The reviewed launch materials did not establish a single universal PAXG rate or maximum loan size.

Paxos’s November 6 announcement confirms PAXG’s Base deployment and one fine troy ounce of gold backing each token. Its wording anticipates Coinbase integrations over coming weeks, whereas Morpho’s same-day release says borrowing is available. Account-level rollout should therefore be checked in Coinbase itself.

Gold backing addresses what supports PAXG; it does not cancel interest or liquidation exposure. The distinction also separates this launch from Aave’s fixed-rate lending plans: adding collateral does not, by itself, fix borrowing costs.

Alternative.me’s sentiment index stood at 28, or Fear, when checked November 8, compared with 25 a day earlier. It measures broader crypto sentiment, not gold-loan demand.

Fear & Greed Index

Nov. 8, 2026
28 Fear

The next useful evidence will be PAXG-specific loan balances, confirmed account availability and published market terms. Until those are established, the integration’s existing billion-dollar totals should remain separate from the size of its new gold business.

Stay up to date

Get the latest crypto insights delivered to your inbox

Fact-checked by: Daily Crypto Briefs Fact-Check Desk

Frequently Asked Questions

Can Coinbase users borrow against PAX Gold?

Morpho announced November 6 that Coinbase Borrow added a USDC lending market backed by PAXG on Base. Gold-launch coverage identifies eligible U.S. customers outside New York; individual access and limits must be checked in the product.

Do Coinbase PAXG loan prices update on weekends?

Coinbase says PAXG loan-health prices update during gold-market hours, approximately 23 hours daily on weekdays. They do not update while gold markets are closed, including weekends. Interest continues to accrue.

Does $1.7 billion represent Coinbase gold-backed loans?

No. Morpho's November 6 figure describes active loans across the existing Coinbase integration. It did not disclose a PAXG-specific loan total.

Does gold backing prevent loan liquidation?

No. Gold backing concerns the token's underlying asset. A collateralized loan can still be liquidated if debt rises too far relative to the collateral's value.