Logo Daily Crypto Briefs
Open menu

Interactive Brokers Launches Ethereum Staking With 30% Fee Cap

7 min read
Breaking News
One prominent official red Interactive Brokers emblem and black InteractiveBrokers wordmark on an off-white limestone sign beside an unbranded greyscale validator server, against crimson and slate architectural panels.

TL;DR

  • Eligible Interactive Brokers LLC clients can now stake Ethereum through the Client Portal, with zerohash providing the service.
  • The current client supplement caps combined IBKR and zerohash fees at 30% of defined staking rewards; this is not a guaranteed yield.
  • Rewards are added to the staked balance. Unstaking can involve network delays and an additional limited provider waiting period.

GREENWICH, Conn., October 13, 2026

Interactive Brokers launched Ethereum staking for eligible clients Tuesday, with combined provider fees capped at 30% of defined rewards, as the brokerage expanded its crypto services following a weaker session for ether.

The Greenwich, Connecticut-based company said zerohash provides the service. Eligible Interactive Brokers LLC clients can submit staking and unstaking requests through a dashboard in Client Portal, alongside the platform they use to manage other investments.

Ether closed Monday at $2,444.30, down 3.55%, after trading between $2,440.12 and $2,581.70, according to ChartExchange’s ETH/USD historical table. Those completed-session figures precede Tuesday’s announcement and do not measure the market’s response to the launch.

In its October 13 announcement, the company said rewards, when earned, are credited as additional staked cryptocurrency and can compound while the position remains staked. It did not publish a fixed annual yield.

Ethereum

ETH
One month: September 13 to October 12, 2026
$2,444
-1.4%
Sep 13 - Oct 12 | High $2,687 • Low $2,444

Ethereum staking opens in IBKR’s Client Portal

The launch turns a previously announced infrastructure partnership into confirmed client access. In zerohash’s June 25 release, Interactive Brokers was named with Public and BitMart as an initial partner, while IBKR’s chief executive described its own offering as forthcoming.

Tuesday’s release goes further by specifying where eligible clients can place requests. The broker’s product page also identifies Ethereum as the asset supported at launch and says the dashboard displays pending activity.

That distinction separates a supplier announcing technical readiness from a brokerage opening a service to customers. It also limits the scope: IBKR’s ability to offer crypto trading does not mean every account can activate staking.

The product page says access depends on eligibility, the Interactive Brokers affiliate and country of residence. The announcement does not provide a complete jurisdiction list or a count of eligible accounts. It should not be read as a simultaneous worldwide rollout.

The supplement also says an instruction to stake or unstake is not accepted until zerohash accepts it. The portal therefore provides access to a separate service provider’s process, rather than making IBKR the operator of the underlying validator.

IBKR lists 20 tradable digital assets in its launch release, including Bitcoin, Solana and Ethereum. That trading menu is broader than the initial staking offering. Neither the release nor the product FAQ confirms an IBKR launch date for another staking asset.

The expansion follows a broader shift toward crypto services inside established financial platforms. Morgan Stanley’s E*Trade spot-crypto rollout also used zerohash, but buying and holding an asset is a different activity from committing it to blockchain validation.

An earlier BNY and Galaxy institutional staking plan illustrated demand for combining custody with validation services. IBKR’s announcement concerns eligible brokerage clients and confirmed portal access, giving it a different customer base and stage of deployment.

Staking supplies resources to Ethereum’s proof-of-stake system. Validators propose and check blocks, receiving rewards for participation. Ethereum’s staking documentation says operating an individual validator requires at least 32 ETH, while intermediary services can provide other routes to participation.

Zerohash said its June infrastructure launch had no minimum thresholds. That supplier-level statement is not a substitute for an individual IBKR account’s current request limits. Tuesday’s public product FAQ does not specify a minimum ETH order size.

The 30% fee cap is a reward split

The precise economics appear in the IBKR client supplement dated September 25. Section 12 caps combined IBKR and zerohash fees at 30% of total staking rewards generated, leaving clients entitled to at least 70%.

The percentage describes how rewards are divided. It is not a 70% return on deposited ETH, a guaranteed annual rate or a fee equal to 30% of the principal. The cap also does not establish that every client will always pay the maximum.

For illustration, 0.01 ETH of defined rewards would leave at least 0.007 ETH after those combined fees. This is arithmetic, not a forecast. A staking position that generates no rewards would produce no reward-based fee under the stated arrangement.

Section 11 gives the reward definition a narrower scope than all revenue a validator might receive. It excludes transaction fees, gas fees and other non-staking awards. A comparison with another provider’s advertised yield therefore needs to account for what that provider includes.

The client’s reward share is added to the staked balance until an unstaking instruction is completed. Compounding increases the amount participating over time, but neither the supplement nor the announcement promises a particular return.

The supplement says clients cannot accrue rewards on amounts retained as fees. Only the credited customer share continues to contribute to the growing position.

Ether’s dollar value remains a separate variable. More ETH units can coexist with a lower dollar-valued position if the market price falls. Monday’s decline illustrates why reward accrual and investment performance are different measurements.

The zerohash user agreement says displayed staking rates are estimates, variable and subject to change. It also permits the use of third-party validators and pooled on-chain wallets, with individual rewards recorded off-chain.

ETH withdrawals follow network and custody rules

The same agreement allows clients to request unstaking at any time, subject to the relevant network’s lock-up or unbonding periods. Zerohash may impose an additional limited waiting period after the network period expires before returning assets.

A dashboard request is consequently the start of an exit process, not proof that ETH is immediately available for sale or transfer. Ethereum’s withdrawal guide explains the protocol’s exit process and limits on how quickly validators can leave.

Withdrawal activity also should not automatically be equated with selling. The distinction arose in earlier coverage of the Ethereum Foundation’s unstaking, where moving assets out of validation was separate from establishing a market sale.

Custody remains with zerohash under the contractual arrangement. The staking account sits within the client’s zerohash account, and the IBKR supplement separates that account from the securities brokerage account. Its customer-protection section says zerohash-held assets lack SIPC protection.

Zerohash’s agreement likewise says staked assets receive neither SIPC nor FDIC protection. It describes potential slashing penalties when a validator violates network rules and says reimbursement may depend on the cause and the provider’s discretion.

These terms put operational convenience alongside a separate provider relationship. Managing staking through a familiar brokerage interface does not eliminate validator risk, withdrawal delays or the custody distinctions set out in the agreements.

Broader sentiment was softer: Alternative.me’s Fear and Greed Index stood at 57, versus 69 the previous day, when checked at 21:02 UTC. The Bitcoin-focused measure is market context, not an ETH staking yield indicator.

Fear & Greed Index

October 13, 2026
57 Greed

IBKR has not disclosed initial ETH deposits, participating-account totals or a timetable for additional staking assets. The next measurable developments are uptake, published account-specific rates and any expansion of eligibility or asset support.

Stay up to date

Get the latest crypto insights delivered to your inbox

Fact-checked by: Daily Crypto Briefs Fact-Check Desk

Frequently Asked Questions

Can Interactive Brokers clients stake Ethereum now?

Yes. The October 13, 2026 announcement confirms Ethereum staking for eligible Interactive Brokers LLC clients through the Staking Dashboard in Client Portal. Availability varies by affiliate and residence.

How much does Interactive Brokers charge for Ethereum staking?

The September 25 client supplement caps combined Interactive Brokers and zerohash fees at 30% of defined staking rewards, leaving clients at least 70%. Those rewards exclude transaction fees, gas fees and other non-staking awards.

Is the 70% reward share an Ethereum staking yield?

No. It is a share of rewards generated, not an annual percentage yield or return on the ETH deposited. Rewards are variable and not guaranteed.

Can clients withdraw staked ETH immediately?

They can submit an unstaking request, but network lock-up or unbonding periods apply. The zerohash agreement also permits an additional limited waiting period before assets are returned.

Does SIPC protect ETH staked through Interactive Brokers?

No. The contractual documents distinguish the zerohash account from the securities brokerage account. Staked digital assets do not receive SIPC or FDIC protection.